Members of the International Scientific Committee met online to begin planning the congress programme.
Members of the International Scientific Committee met online to begin planning the congress programme.

Positive start to programme-planning for the next WCPT Congress

Planning for the 2017 WCPT Congress in Cape Town began in September with the first meeting of the committee organising the event’s scientific programme. 

And members of the committee were excited at the possibilities: “The next congress will build on the successes of the WCPT Congress in Singapore, but rest assured there will be new developments for the congress in Cape Town,” said the Chair of the International Scientific Committee, Dina Brooks from Canada. 
Following a call for nominations to all WCPT member organisations, regions and subgroups, representatives have been appointed to the committee from each of WCPT’s five regions, WCPT’s subgroups and the host organisation (the South African Society of Physiotherapy). 
“I think I can speak for all of the committee when I say how privileged we feel to have been selected to shape the programme of such a significant event for our profession,” said Dina Brooks. “But with that comes a real responsibility to deliver.”
The committee’s decisions will be informed by feedback from the 2015 congress, market research of potential delegates and the committee’s own impressions. Some of the current congress strengths that they want to build on include networking opportunities, rapid five abstract presentations (a new development in 2015) and the poster presentations.
Catherine Sykes, WCPT’s Professional Policy Consultant with responsibility for supporting the ISC, said the committee will be looking at new presentation formats as a way of sharing knowledge effectively. “The meeting provided a very positive start to what is bound to be a very intense process over the coming months,” she said
The ISC members are:
  • Chair: Dina Brooks (Canada), Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy at the University of Toronto
  • Host organisation representative: Witness Mudzi (South Africa), Associate Professor at the Physiotherapy Department, University of the Witwatersrand
  • Africa representative: Jonathan Quartey (Ghana), Lecturer at the Department of Physiotherapy, University of Ghana
  • Asia Western Pacific representative: Leigh Hale (New Zealand), Dean of the School of Physiotherapy, University of Otago
  • Europe representative: Charlotte Häger (Sweden), Professor at the Department of Community Medicine and Rehabilitation, Umeå University
  • North America Caribbean representative: Dianne Millette (Canada), Registrar and CEO of the Physiotherapy Alberta College and Association
  • South America representative: Edgar Hernandez (Colombia), Associate Professor of the physiotherapy programme at the Colombia National University
  • WCPT subgroups representative: Hans Hobbelen (Netherlands), Professor in Healthy Lifestyle, Ageing and Health Care at the Hanze University of Applied Science
The call for abstracts for the 2017 congress will be in June 2016 and early bird registration opens in September 2016.

Related to this story