Peta Ann Schmidt receiving a Humanitarian Service Award at the 2011 presentation ceremony.
Peta Ann Schmidt receiving a Humanitarian Service Award at the 2011 presentation ceremony.

WCPT awards programme is seeking leaders and achievers in international physical therapy

WCPT is seeking nominations for its awards programme, recognising outstanding contributions and leadership at an international level by physical therapists and groups of physical therapists.

The awards, to be presented in 2015, have been given new momentum by WCPT’s awards committee producing descriptions and guidance to encourage nominations. For the first time, support will be available to support WCPT member organisations in putting together their nominations.

There are five award categories – international service, humanitarian service, leadership in rehabilitation, service to WCPT and WCPT’s highest award, the Mildred Elson Award for international leadership. Nominations for awards must be submitted by one of WCPT’s member organisations, regions or subgroups – apart from the service to WCPT award, which is decided by the WCPT Executive Committee. 

There are specific critieria for each award, and Emma Stokes, Chair of WCPT’s Awards Committee, hopes that new documentation sent out to member organisations will make the requirements clear.

“We wanted to provide descriptions of the attributes of physical therapists, and groups or organisations, who would be considered appropriate awardees,” says Emma Stokes, who is also WCPT’s Vice President. “The committee also wanted to provide criteria against which nominations would be considered to aid their decision making once nominations were received.”

“We hope the new background information will encourage WCPT’s member organisations, subgroups and regions to look closely at the leaders in their physical therapy community and celebrate their achievements by nominating them for the awards.”

The awards committee will consider all nominations, and recommend awardees to WCPT’s Executive Committee, which will make the final decision on awards.

In a departure from previous years, the Chair of the awards committee will be available to assist member organisations in preparing nominations. “I will be remaining completely neutral in later decision-making by the committee,” said Emma Stokes.

The awards committee is made up of physical therapists from each of WCPT’s regions. Its other members are: Natalie Beswetherick (Europe), Suh-Fang Jeng (Asia Western Pacific), Bridget Birabi (Africa), Nancy Prickett (North America Caribbean) and Amelia Pasqual Marques (South America).

Nominations should be received by 31st August.

Related to this story